MINUTES OF THE UNIVERSITY SENATE February 2, 1999

The February 2, 1999 meeting of the University Senate was called to order by Vice Chairperson Cojocaru at 3:20 p.m. in the Alumni Auditorium of the Eberly College of Business.

The following Senators were **excused** from the meeting: Francisco Alarcon, Doug Bish, Holly Boda, Ruiess Bravo, Joseph LTC Bukartec, David DeCoster, Heather Eckels, Barbara Ender, Susan Krevel, Jodell Kuzneski, Andres Macchiarella, Josh Mehall, Mary Moore, Damon Morris, Bill Nunn, Lawrence Pettit, Karen Polansky, Stephen Shiring, Lorraine Wilson, Nashat Zuraikat

The following Senators were **absent** from the meeting: Audrey Allen, Mark Anthony, John Baker, William Bell, Christine Black, Kenneth Brode, Tracey Brown, Brenda Carter, Frank Condino, John Eck, Joan Fisher, Steven Holler, Dennis Hulings, Nikki Jordan, Nicholas Kolb, David Marchant, Wayne McGonigal, Brian Miller, Nathan Miller, Nicole Miller, Stanford Mukasa, Muhammad Numan, Edward Receski, David Reed, Darlene Richardson, Gina Runco, Robert Russell, Fredrick Shering, John Taylor, Liz Taylor, Judith Villa, Monica Wally, Phillip Zorich

Minutes from December 1, 1998 Meeting

A point of order was raised regarding the minutes of the December 1, 1998 Senate meeting. It was pointed out to Vice Chair Cojocaru that the motion to close debate on the laser printing policy fee motion was not approved by 2/3 of those present as required by Robert's Rules of Order and that the debate was, therefore, not closed and that the following vote which approved the laser printing policy fee motion was thus null and void. The Vice Chair agreed with the point of order and ruled, without objection, that the vote to close debate did not pass by a 2/3 majority and that the subsequent vote to approve the laser printing policy fee motion was null and void and that the debate on the laser printer policy fee motion would be continued under old business. With this point of order resolved, the minutes were <u>ACCEPTED</u>.

Agenda items were APPROVED.

allow students to have free copies for a certain number of weeks and then charge after that point in the semester. After consultation with students and upon the recommendation of the President's staff, President Pettit decided to defer the implementation of the fee until an appropriate database could be developed. Software would continue to be installed, which would allow us to track usage and to establish some baseline data that would be helpful in setting the fee.

VICE CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT (Senator Cojocaru)

No report.

CHAIRPERSON'S REPORT (Dr. Alarcon)

As the senate meets this month, I will be delivering a short course on polynomials over semirings at the 7th Central American Mathematics Research Conference in Panamá. The meeting will be chaired by Vice-Chair Cojocaru.

I have two items to report. Senator Mike Williamson has agreed to serve as a senate representative for the search committee for Dean of the Graduate School. Thanks Mike! I encourage all of you to visit the homepage for ACPAC, the Academic Computing Policy Advisory Committee. I am chairing that committee and representing the senate. The homepage is at http://www.ma.iup.edu/acpac/ You can direct questions and or comments to me or any other member of the committee.

OLD BUSINESS (carryover from December 1, 1998 meeting)

Debate resumed on the laser printing policy fee motion. A **motion** was made and seconded to postpone discussion of the motion until the March Senate meeting to allow more preparation for debate. Motion **APPROVED**.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

RULES COMMITTEE--Chairperson Beisel

Chairperson Beisel reported that the committee has updated the Senate roster and it will be posted on the Senate web page. The revised by-laws will also be posted on the Senate web page.

NON-CREDIT COMMITTEE--Chairperson Nagendra No report.

RESEARCH COMMITTEE--Chairperson Numan

The new Research Committee Chairperson for this semester is Dr. Muhammad Numan. He will replace Dr. Phil Neusius who is on sabbatical this semester.

STUDENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE--Chairperson Barker No report.

UNIVERSITY DEVELOPMENT & FINANCE COMMITTEE--Chairperson Heckroth No report.

ACADEMIC COMMITTEE -- Chairperson Duntley

A **motion** was made to approve the following persons be awarded Professor Emeritus status effective at the May commencement, or upon official retirement if the faculty member is still in IUP service on that date.

Name

Department

Dr. Joseph Angelo	Mathematics
Dr. Joseph A. Bianco	Office Systems & Business Education
Dr. David Borst	Music
Dr. Jerry B. Fiddler	Special Education & Clinical Services
Dr. John N. Fox	Physics
Mr. Victor Liscinsky	Health & Physical Education

Ms. Patricia L. Lommock	Theater
Mr. Robert E. McClay, Jr.	Safety Sciences
Dr. Cruz Mendizabal	Spanish & Classical Languages
Dr. Robert Morris	Political Science
Dr. Imogene L. Moyer	Criminology
Ms. Dorothy A. Palmer	Political Science
Dr. Robert A. Patsiga	Chemistry
Dr. R. Thomas Schaub	Philosophy & Religious Studies
Mr. Robert E. Slenker	Art
Dr. Edward Sloniger	Health & Physical Education
Dr. Frances C. Stineman	COBAC
Dr. Edwina B. Vold	Professional Studies in Education

Motion **<u>APPROVED</u>**.

AWARDS COMMITTEE -- Chairperson Wheat

No report.

LIBRARY AND EDUCATIONAL SERVICES COMMITTEE--Chairperson S. Jackson

Senator Jackson presented information on the state of the IUP library. The presentation indicated that the IUP library ranks very low in both its doctoral peer group and among the SSHE universities. Prolonged discussion ensued. Motion by Senator Walz and seconded to request President Pettit to form a special task force to address the issues of the IUP library and make recommendations as to what should be done to resolve the problems. Motion was made to close debate and seconded. Motion <u>APPROVED</u>. The main motion was **DEFEATED**.

Senator Alvine **moved** that a resolution be adopted to recommend to the president that he improve funding to the library. Motion seconded.

Motion by Senator Duntley that the resolution motion be referred to the Library and Educational Services Committee to formulate a proposal to bring to the Senate for action. Motion seconded. Motion **APPROVED**.

NEW BUSINESS